Each year, the Shield recognizes two of its members with awards that highlight different aspects of the ideal Shield guy: creativity, reliability, and quality. These awards carry with them a small prize, as well as the respect of their fellow Shield guys.

Guy of the Year

The Guy of the Year is a unique distinction, in that its recipient is chosen by his fellow members of the Shield staff, who nominate and then select each year’s recipient from their own. The citation for the award follows.

“The Shield Guy of the Year is someone who, over the course of the year, has contributed to the Shield in dramatic fashion, whether through the quality of their articles or artwork, their reliability and honesty in submitting their work, their demonstrated leadership abilities, or a combination of the aforementioned qualities. A Guy of the Year shows steadfast commitment to the Shield and to his fellow staff members by consistently delivering high-quality work.”

Past Recipients

  • 2013-2014: Ben Olyer, class of 2016.
  • 2014-2015: Will Scheuerman, class of 2017.
  • 2015-2016: Frederick Rion, class of 2018.

Publisher’s Award Recipients

In the past, the Publisher’s Award was a simple recognition awarded to the Shield guy who had published the most articles judged as meeting Shield standards by the Publisher. However, starting in 2016, Shield guys must instead submit an article they consider to be work of the highest caliber for consideration by a jury, selected from McQuaid Jesuit’s faculty and staff and chaired by the Publisher, which will then decide which of the submitted articles deserves the award for the year.

Past Recipients

  • 2013-2014: Carl Mruzek, class of 2016.
  • 2014-2015: Carl Mruzek, class of 2016.
  • 2015-2016: Adam Daughton, class of 2019.